The new centre features a new restaurant - 1830, where diners can enjoy fresh local produce with views out over the World Heritage site.
The popular café has been expanded to include different styles of service with additional outdoor dining space.
There is also a dedicated space for walkers embarking on the Three Capes Track to prepare for their adventure.
The new facility also includes the introduction of 52 new character cards in a state-of-the-art interactive gallery (above), inviting visitors to delve deeper into the who, what and when of Port Arthur’s fascinating history.
Regular visitors are advised that access to the Historic Site is once again via the Visitor Centre main entrance and guided tours will again depart from the lower level of the Visitor Centre, as will ghost tours.
The café will be open from 9am-8.30pm and Three Capes Track walkers will have a dedicated check-in counter and luggage storage area on the lower level of the Visitor Centre.
The new gift shop sells high-quality products made by local artisans.